Sign in
Header Main Menu Home Topic Library Certification Local coaching Partners More arrow_drop_down Tools Help & FAQs Feedback Blog
Start learning

Bonus Material

In this section, you will find some bonus materials that will enrich your learning experience in all things digital. These videos are not part of the overall Google Digital Garage certification, so think of them as an opportunity to explore more exciting subjects.

Solving problems small, big and prickly

NEXT VIDEO
{[ ((showTranscript) ? 'HIDE' : 'SHOW TRANSCRIPT') ]}
As a kid, I was really inspired by the explorers, I grew up in Seattle, and Lewis and Clark were kind of heroes locally. I wanted to be an explorer when I grew up. As an electrical engineer, I would always look for new things that we can do that just--wherever possible. Machine learning and research is an exploration, it feels like an intellectual exploration.

We've definitely seen a big uptick in the last five years in what machines are able to do, compared to, say, the previous decade or two.

With the advent of a lot more data and a lot more computing power, we really can think bigger and sort of change the game about what sort of models we can envision.

The real world is actually very messy, hard, logical rules are not the way to solve real world problems. So machine learning is all about learning from examples.

Rather than writing 500,000 lines of code, we instead have the machine learn from observations about the world. We look through a bunch of these examples in the machine-learning algorithm, maybe millions, maybe billions, maybe even trillions, to identify the patterns and generalize from there.

In the task of image recognition, we've been able to train models to take the pixels of an image and from those pixels, learn high level features.